Society Awards

Nominate societies and committees for an award at the Big Society Blowout

Society Awards were presented at the Big Society Blowout on 21st March. Congratulations to everyone who was nominated, and especially to our shortlisted candidates and our winners!

Society of the Year:

Winner: Campus Cinema

Body Society
African-Caribbean Society
Comedy Society
Entrepreneurs Society
Erasmus Society
Physics Society
Postgraduate Society
Big Band
First Aid Society
Muay Thai
Soul Choir


Dodgeball Society
Classics Society

Best New Society:

Winner: Contemporary Choir

Dodgeball Club
Opera Society
Taylor Swift Society
West Country Society


GO Society

Outstanding President: 

Winner: Anna Markman - First Aid Society

Alex Dobbyn - Enactus
Anna McCutcheon - Body Society
Olubukola Oluseye - NOOMA
Jack Watts - Contemporary Choir
James Murphy - Exeter University Theatre Company
Nasara Al-Hassan - African Caribbean Society
Oliver Weaver - West Country Society
Ross Castle - Expedition Society
Sophia Pinto - Campus Cinema


Alex Baker – Dodgeball
Alice Aplin – Maths Society
Alice Talbut – Taylor Swift Society
Catherine Edington – Concert Band
Chloe Chatard – STAR (Student Action for Refugees)
Ciarán Cartmell – Folk Society
Ella Nowroz – RAG
Eve Bradley – Model United Nations
Eve Foley – Choral Society
Jan Sassenberg – Erasmus Society
John Fraser – Chess Society
Kat Rees – Opera Society
Kate Loosmore – Philosophy Society
Katie Smaldon – Avolve
Louisa Pannifer – Harry Potter & Quidditch Society
Levi Vershuren – Archaeology and Forensics Society
Olivia Buckley – Drama Society
Patrick Hoyle – Classics Society
Sissi Nikolaidi – Greek & Greek Cypriot Society
Sophia Rees – MEDLIFE
Tanguy Denonain – Entrepreneurs Society
Theo Cox Dodgson – Game of Thrones Society
Thomas Wall – Muay Thai
Waheed ul Abdul Rahman – Surgical Society

Outstanding Contribution to Committee:

Winner: Sorrel Pompert Robertson - TravelExe

Abigail Yee - Dodgeball Society
Chris Allen - Campus Cinema
Ella French - Medical Society
Emma Jones - Ballroom, Latin and Salsa Society
Gina Rees - Shotgun
Isha Gurung - XPressionFM
Joshua Tan - Slow Food on Campus
Nikhil Bolton-Patel - Footlights
Sam Leedham - Muay Thai


Connor Spence – Exetech
Eddie Hurst – Chess Society
Eleanor Davies – Medical Sciences Society
Eleanor Laurence – Exeter Beats Eating Disorders
Emma Cogswell – First Aid Society
Eva Penhallurick – Feminist Society
Hamzah Sukiman – Model United Nations
Jess Vining – Cocktail Society
Jonathon Roche – First Aid Society
Kevin Ridley – Enactus
Konstantinos Kareklas – Greek & Greek Cypriot Society
Lauren Wright – Body Society
Lottie Rayner – XPressionFM
Lucy Morris – Feminist Society
Olly Martin – Footlights

Best Fundraiser:

Winner: Exeter Charity Week Auction - Islamic Society

Big Clothes Swap - Amnesty International Society
Charity Classes - Body Society


24 Hours Live – XPressionFM
Charity Comedy Night – Comedy Society and MEDLIFE

Biggest Community Impact:

Winner: Silent Protest - Amnesty International Society

Biosmart - Enactus
Lighthouse - Enactus


Gourmet Mushroom Company - Enactus

Outstanding Contribution to Equality and Diversity:

Winner: Nasara Al-Hassan - African Caribbean Society

Almaz Akainyah - Feminist Society

Best Collaborative Event:

Winner: Collaboration at the RAMM - World Music Choir and Breakdance Society

ExTunes Variety Show
Student Elections Week - XPressionFM and XTV
Women of Colour Poetry Night - Feminist Society


A Career in International Development – Enactus, UNICEF, Effective Altruism Society,  STAR, Amnesty International
Classics Staff-Student Film Club – Classics Society

Best New Event:

Winner: Jawbreaker - Theatre With Teeth

The Marriage of Figaro - Opera Society
Nightlive - XPressionFM
Restart a Heart - First Aid Society


Benchball Varsity – Benchball Society
Christmas Concert – Contemporary Choir
Muay Thai Interclub – Muay Thai Society
Southern Universities Darts League – Darts Society
Trip to Kenya - Enactus

Best Repeat Event:

Winner: Women of Colour Poetry Night - Feminist Society

Bring Your Own Boy - Body Society
Exeter Does Strictly Come Dancing - Ballroom, Latin and Salsa Society
24 Hours Live - XPressionFM


Alumni Charity Weekend – XPressionFM
CPRathon – First Aid Society
Culture Shock – African and Caribbean Society
EXHACK – Entrepreneurs Society
Guild Election Week – Xpression FM
MMA – Muay Thai
Oklahoma! – Footlights
Speed dating – Third Culture Kid Society
Yoga – Body Society

Create-Your-Own Awards

Winner: Outstanding Society Dedication – Sarah Dean, Footlights
Winner: Best Newcomer – Richard Ainslie, XPressionFM

Best Marketing – Owen Bush and Sophia Hartwell, XPressionFM


Best Contribution from a Non-Committee Member – Jack Phippen, Hide and Seek Society
Most Improved Society – Dodgeball Society
Most Overcommitted Human – Jack Watts
Most Sociable Society – Physics Society





University of Exeter Students' Guild is a Charity and Company Limited by Guarantee. Registered Charity Number: 1136468 Company Number: 07217324; registered in England and Wales Registered office: Devonshire House, Stocker Road, Exeter, EX4 4PZ